Raiders' Derek Carr nominated for 2017 Art Rooney Sportsmanship award

Nov 5 2017 Houston TX USA Indianapolis Colts wide receiver T.Y. Hilton celebrates his touchdown during the first quarter against the Houston Texans at NRG Stadium. Mandatory Credit Shanna Lockwood-USA TODAY Sports

Shanna Lockwood-USA TODAY Sports

Houston Texans punter Shane Lechler is the team's nominee for the annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

The NFL established the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award in 2015, recognizing players who show outstanding sportsmanship on the field each year. Then current National Football League players will vote on their Pro Bowl ballots in mid-December to find their team's consensus pick (which can not be among its own players). A panel from the NFL Legends Community, made up of former NFL players, will select eight finalists, with four coming from each conference.

Heyward is an incredibly talented player but always stays within the rules and has always displayed tremendous respect for his opponents.

People Magazine Names 'This Is Us' Men the Sexiest Cast Alive
But a bigger incentive for the singer was being able to stick it to his fellow judge (and 2013 Sexiest Man Alive ) Adam Levine . It turns out, girlfriend Gwen Stefani pushed him to accept the honor.

Stars walk the red carpet at world premiere of 'Justice League'
I hope he decides to stay on as Batman , the DC universe is already unstable and a change in actor isn't something it needs. After Justice League , Momoa's Aquaman next appears in his own solo film (set to release in 2018) from director James Wan.

Call for knitters to make hats for babies for American Heart Month
The project, called Little Hats, Big Hearts, has been created to honour and celebrate babies, mothers and living heart-healthily. Go to to find knitting patterns, participating AHA offices and more.

Carr, a two-time Pro Bowler, was nominated for the award in 2016.

Each NFL team nominated one player - Heyward is the Pittsburgh Steelers' selection - for the award created in 2014 to honor the late founding owner of the Steelers.

The victor will be announced on the eve of the Super Bowl and will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation for a charity of his choice. The victor will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice and a trophy to recognize the honor.

Latest News