Mayfield wins Walter Camp Player of the Year award

Baker Mayfield claims Davey O'Brien Award

Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield wins Davey O'Brien Award

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield was named the 2017 Davey O'Brien Award victor Thursday night during ESPN's college football awards show.

Mayfield is the fourth Sooner to win the award in the 51 years that its been given.

The University of Oklahoma football program is heading back to Norman with plenty of hardware in hand after Thursday night's Home Depot College Football Awards in Atlanta.

CHUCK BEDNARIK: Alabama strong safety Minkah Fitzpatrick won the Bednarik as the nation's top defensive player. Mayfield leads the nation in passer efficiency rating and has thrown for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns.

Junior tackle Orlando Brown was nominated for the Outland Trophy, given to the best interior lineman.

Named the first Mackey Award victor in program history Wednesday, Andrews leads the nation's tight ends with his 906 receiving yards and receiving yards per game (69.7), and is second in yards per catch (15.6), third in receptions (58) and sixth in touchdown receptions (eight). Mayfield beat both Rudolph and Barrett in games this season. He scored 12 touchdowns this season and has caught a pass in 44 straight games, the second-longest streak in the nation.

Homelessness Among Families On The Rise In NH
In San Diego, the number of homeless veterans went down about 10 percent and now is 12 percent of the total homeless population. Thirty states and the District of Columbia reported decreases in homelessness between 2016 and 2017, HUD officials said.

Care spending growth slowed considerably in 2016
The slowing was driven by fewer new drugs being introduced and less spending on pricey treatments for hepatitis C. The pace of home health spending slowed compared to recent years, though total spending in home health ticked up.

Justice League performance leads to huge DC restructure at Warner Bros
According to Variety , Berg will no longer act as the head of DC Films' production division. Variety states that he will leave his advisory role, but remain as a producer.

The Austin, Texas, native now leads the nation in passing efficiency, completion percentage and yards per pass attempt. He has made 87 percent of his attempts.

The Lou Groza Award for the top kicker went to Utah's Matt Gay, while the Ray Guy Award for the top punter was won by Michael Dickson of Texas. He has had 32 punts downed inside the 20-yard line and 14 inside the 10.

Junior tight end Mark Andrews was named Mackey Award victor on Wednesday.

Scott Frost, who led Central Florida to a ideal 12-0 season that led to his hiring at Nebraska, was named the national coach of the year.

The AP award is the first of what could be several won by Mayfield. Ohio State's Billy Price won the Rimington Award as the outstanding center.

Mayfield was named the Walter Camp Player of the Year on Thursday. That squad was unveiled during the show.

Latest News