Balochistan Assembly meets today to elect new leader of house

Balochistan Assembly elects CM today

Balochistan Assembly meets today to elect new leader of house

Following the ouster of ex-PM Nawaz Sharif from office in a corruption scam a year ago, the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) suffered another major blow on Saturday when Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, a candidate of its rival party, was elected CM of the restive southwestern Balochistan province.

The National Party, once a key partner in the coalition government, opted not to sit either on the treasury or the opposition benches.

Bizenjo, who had moved the motion of no-confidence against former CM Sanaullah Zehri, managed to bag 41 votes in 65-member house. Durrani made the formal announcement after Bizenjo bagged 41 votes and Liaquat Agha 13.

In PB-41, the turnout was 1.18 per cent, while only 672 people cast their vote.

On Friday, Bizenjo, an MPA from Awaran district, had submitted five nomination papers each proposed and seconded by members of allied parties.

Born in 1974, the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid first became a lawmaker in 2002 and remained Deputy Speaker from 2013-15.

Ashes defeat does not harm England´s one-day players,…
Bayliss's announcement caught some off guard but Morgan responded in typically bolshy fashion when asked if he was one of them. However, he has made great strides with the white ball, and Morgan said: "He has been brilliant for us".

Korea plunges as a result of United Nations sanctions
Trump would not confirm whether he has spoken with Kim, saying only that he didn't want to comment. The country explains its opposition by an alleged nuclear threat from the United States.

No early Liverpool move for Keita, insists Rangnick
Keita was booked in the second half, his fifth yellow card of the season ensuring he'll be suspended for the following game. On Thursday, head coach Ralph Hasenhüttl claimed: "Nothing has changed".

The cabinet members are: Tahir Mehmood Khan, Sardar Sarfraz Khan Domki, Nawaz Jangez Khan Marri, Mir Sarfraz Ahmed Bugti, Rahat Jamali, Abdul Majeed Abro, Asim Kurd Giloo, Mir Amir Rind, Ghulam Dastagir Badini, Muhammad Akbar Askani, Sheikh Jaffar Khan Mandokhel, Agha Raza, Manzoor Ahmed Kakar and Prince Ahmed Ali.

Speaking on the floor of the assembly, Bizenjo thanked all the lawmakers who had supported him. He added that he would reach out to all political parties, including PkMAP and NP for parliamentary consultation and we would try to resolve issues in Balochistan by keeping everyone together.

Retracing the steps of his father, who was thrice elected from Awaran, Bizenjo commenced his political career from his hometown Shindi Jhao Awaran.

JUI-F's Maulana Abdul Wasay, leader of the opposition in the provincial assembly, said the opposition would not join the new provincial government.

The assembly session headed by Speaker Raheela Hameed Durrani began at 11.30 am.

The PML-N has 21 members in the provincial assembly, out of which 19 members are said to be supporting Bizenjo. His cabinet took oath the same day, which was also administered by the Balochistan Governor Muhammad Khan Achakzai.

Latest News