Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball during practice swing

Zach Johnson

Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball during practice swing

But because Johnson had yet to tee off, the ball was not technically in play when he made his swing, meaning the ruling came down to his intent.

-Accidentally strikes the ball when making a practice swing or while preparing to make a stroke.

Johnson was standing on the 13 tee at even par for the day after a bogey on 12, when he took a practice swing with his driver, and accidentally made contact with his ball that was on the tee. It was so bad that it richocheted off the tee marker then popped in the air right in front of him.

Luckily, the 43-year-old emerged unscathed - pride not withstanding - as no penalty was applied and he went on to birdie the 13th hole.

Highlights from The Mandalorian at Star Wars Celebration
The wait for footage from the final episode of the latest Star Wars trilogy has been excruciating, but now it's coming to an end. Favreau also says the show will not only satisfy longtime fans but introduce a new generation to the galaxy far, far away.

Respawn co-founder working on new Epic games
West left the company not long after he and Respawn co-founder Vince Zampella settled their lawsuit with Activision . West's departure from Respawn six years ago was down to "family issues", and the dev hasn't worked in games since.

Engined C8 Corvette Will Debut July 18
But, they have just released a camouflaged version of the new auto to give a sneak peak at what this new vehicle will look like. The engine will be modified to fit the rear-mid-engine layout and perhaps given a power boost to take it above 500 hp.

The most impressive part of the sequence is that Johnson then stepped up and bombed a flawless drive down the middle of the fairway.

After 13 holes of play, Johnson now sits at one-under for the day and one-over for the tournament. "I actually hit a really good tee shot after that, so I think I recovered nicely".

"I can't think of a time I've done it - not on objective", Johnson said of hitting the ball during a practice swing.

Playing partner Ian Poulter revealed he was a little bit "shocked", although he admitted he didn't actually see what happened as he was getting a drink out of his bag. The 2007 Masters champ bounced back in the early going on his second round, moving to one-over par on several occasions.

Latest News