Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball during practice swing

Zach Johnson hits ball on practice swing but it's not a penalty	
				Rob Schumacher  USA TODAY Network

Zach Johnson hits ball on practice swing but it's not a penalty Rob Schumacher USA TODAY Network

But because Johnson had yet to tee off, the ball was not technically in play when he made his swing, meaning the ruling came down to his intent.

-Accidentally strikes the ball when making a practice swing or while preparing to make a stroke.

Johnson was standing on the 13 tee at even par for the day after a bogey on 12, when he took a practice swing with his driver, and accidentally made contact with his ball that was on the tee. It was so bad that it richocheted off the tee marker then popped in the air right in front of him.

Luckily, the 43-year-old emerged unscathed - pride not withstanding - as no penalty was applied and he went on to birdie the 13th hole.

Walmart slams Amazon on Twitter, says 'How about paying your taxes?'
Kitco Metals Inc . and the author of this article do not accept culpability for losses and/ or damages arising from the use of this publication.

Respawn co-founder working on new Epic games
West left the company not long after he and Respawn co-founder Vince Zampella settled their lawsuit with Activision . West's departure from Respawn six years ago was down to "family issues", and the dev hasn't worked in games since.

Why Captain cool MS Dhoni loses cool in thrilling match?
The MS Dhoni-led side has lost just one game and is sitting pretty on top of the IPL points table with 6 wins. The former India captain was docked 50 per cent of his match fees.

The most impressive part of the sequence is that Johnson then stepped up and bombed a flawless drive down the middle of the fairway.

After 13 holes of play, Johnson now sits at one-under for the day and one-over for the tournament. "I actually hit a really good tee shot after that, so I think I recovered nicely".

"I can't think of a time I've done it - not on objective", Johnson said of hitting the ball during a practice swing.

Playing partner Ian Poulter revealed he was a little bit "shocked", although he admitted he didn't actually see what happened as he was getting a drink out of his bag. The 2007 Masters champ bounced back in the early going on his second round, moving to one-over par on several occasions.

Latest News